Women In Film Emmy Award Celebration 2011



group1-webOn Friday, September 16, 2011, Women In Film and Entertainment Weekly hosted the 3rd annual Women In Film Emmy® Award Cocktail Party at the BOA Steakhouse in West Hollywood. Established and produced by the Women In Film Television & Media Committee, chaired by Danica Krislovich, and sponsored by L’Oreal, the posh event celebrated the women nominated for Emmy® Awards in 2011.

The sidewalk was filled with familiar faces and eager fans as limousines pulled up to the front of the restaurant, and publicists and managers escorted their clients to red carpet press line. WIF ew-wif-emmy-party-9-16-11-1President Cathy Schulman, winner of the Best Picture Academy Award® for Crash, welcomed the hundreds of guests including Elizabeth Moss, nominated for Lead Actress, Drama for her role as “Peggy Olson” in AMC’s “Mad Men”, Sophia Vergara, nominated for Supporting Actress, Comedy for her role as "Gloria Delgado-Pritchett" in the ABC series “Modern Family”, Julie Bowen, who went on to win the Emmy® for Best Supporting Actress, Comedy for her role as "Claire Dunphy" in “Modern Family”, and  Margo Martindale, who won the  Emmy for Supporting Actress, Drama for her performance as "Mags Bennett" on "Justified".

bowen-burrell-webOther nominees in attendence included Connie Britton, nominated for Lead Actress, Drama for her role of “Tami Taylor” for “Friday Night Lights”, Michelle Forbes (“True Blood”), nominated for Lead Actress, Drama for her role of "Mitch Larsen" in AMC’s “The Killing”, Elizabeth McGovern nominated for "Downton Abby", Melissa McCarthy nominated for "Mike & Molly", and Brenda Strong, nominated for her voice-over work as "Mary Alice Young" on ABC’s “Desperate Housewives”.  Previous Emmy winners in attendance included Jamie Pressly (“My Name is Earl”) and Sharon Lawrence (“NYPD Blue”).

Among the guests were Erika Christensen  (“Parenthood”), Sarah Hyland (“Modern Family”), Jenna Ushkowitz (“Glee”), Minnie Driver (“The Riches”, Good Will Hunting), Olivia Munn (“Perfect Couples”), Kate Flannery (“The Office”), Aubrey Plaza (“Parks and Recreation”), Gillian Jacobs  (“Community”), Garcelle Beauvais (“NYPD Blue”), Amber Tamblyn (“House”),  Melissa Joan Hart (“Melissa and Joey”), Kathy Griffin (“My Life on the D-List”), Nancy Travis (“Last Man Standing”), Sela Ward (“CSI: NY”), Laura Prepon (“Are You There, Chelsea?”), and Martha Plimpton (“Raising Hope”).ew-wif-emmy-party-9-16-11-2

Male nominees for 2011 attended in support of their female colleagues, including Josh Charles (“The Good Wife”), Eric Stonestreet (“CSI: Crime Scene Investigation”), and Jesse Tyler Ferguson (“Modern Family”).  2011 Emmy® winners in attendence included Ty Burrel (“Modern Family” ) and James Woods nominated for Too Big to Fail.

Other supporters included Mark Salling (“Glee”), Zachary Quinto ("Heroes"), Judah Friedlander (“30 Rock”), Hank Azaria (“The Simpsons”), Aziz Ansari (“Parks and Recreation”), John Slattery (“Mad Men”), and Rex Lee  (“Entourage”), Seth MacFarlane  (“Family Guy”), Sam Trammell (“True Blood”), and David Cross (“Arrested Development”).  From behind the camera we had David Arquette (“Cougar Town”), Randi Hiller nominated for Cinema Verite, Bill Prady nominated for "Two and a Half Men", Jason Katims and David Nevins nominated for "Friday Night Lights", Christopher LLoyd nominated for "Modern Family", and Matt Weiner nominated for "Mad Men".

driver-webKrislovich raised a glass to salute the nominees, and acknowledged that the evening also celebrated the 3rd year of the WIF TV&Media Initiative, where aspiring mediamakers can spend time on set with producers of Disney/ABC and TNT/TBS programs, and pitch ideas to MTV programmers. “We forget sometimes how difficult it can be to break into the network and cable business,” said Krislovich, “and this initiative gives Women In Film members an opportunity they can’t find anywhere else. This is what Women In Film is all about, “she added, gesturing to the room, “celebrating success and providing the tools women need to accomplish their goals.”

PMK-BNC managed the busy press line that was anchored by Entertainment Weekly and included Access Hollywood, Extra, E! News, Variety, Hollywood Reporter, Associated Press Television, People Magazine, Getty/Wire Image, Fox News, Berliner, INF, New York Post, Retna, CNN, Hollyscoop, KTTV (Fox Channel 11), OCTV, Red Carpet Network, ReelzChannel. Film Magic, Celebuzz, Gamma, Globe Photos, PictureGroup, SIPA PRESS and Women’s Wear Daily.

 L’Oreal presented departing guests with a gift bag that included top-selling L’Oreal cosmetics and skin and hair care products.

Emmy® Party Committee:
Danica Krislovich, Chair
Orly Adelson, Ivy Kagan Bierman, Iris Grossman, Patricia Heaton, Sharon Laurence
Debbie Liebling, Ghen Laraya Long, Lauren Penuela , Robert Nieto, Mike Tschida and Laurie Zaks

Join us on Facebook follow us on twitter watch our youtube channel




Photo Gallery